At Least Twice A Week

One Bowl Chocolate Cake

Posted on: April 19, 2010

This week’s Martha and Me item was picked by Brette.  And wow, what a choice.  I wanted an excuse to make this and I was so happy with the results.

The recipe is in the April issue of Martha Stewart Living and along with the cake they offer a chocolate frosting.  The recipe on the website  is slightly different than the one in the magazine.  I followed the magazine  but I am sure they are both wonderful.

I made cupcakes since they have to go to work with me and cupcakes travel easier.  My hubby has no willpower so if I keep this kind of thing in the house, he indulges.  Anyway,  the cake was so easy, sift the dry add the eggs, buttermilk, oil and vanilla and voila, you are done.  I used vegetable oil because I didn’t have safflower but it worked wonderfully. The cake was moist and not too crumbly and had a good, rich chocolate flavor.  I will definitely be making this batter again.

The frosting was a bit more involved to make.  Cream the butter and cream cheese, sift the powered sugar, salt and cocoa, melt the chocolate add the sour cream.  There were a lot of bowls to wash when I was done.  And there was so much frosting left over.  While I would say the taste was good, it was way too sweet for me.  See the milk in the picture, it is a must have with this frosting.

Another good thing about this recipe is I had everything on hand.  However, next time I am icing these delicious cupcakes with a chocolate glaze and I think that will be perfect.

1 Response to "One Bowl Chocolate Cake"

I always struggle with Martha’s frosting recipes. There does seem to be too many steps involved in making them. Your chocolate cake looks so good. I’m trying to fit into a bathing suit, so I’m cutting back on calories for a while. Otherwise, I would have dug right into this recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Copyright

© Karen Schaeffer and At Least Twice A Week, 2009-2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Karen Schaeffer and At Least Twice A Week with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
